Ranji trophy matches to be held at neutral venues from 6 October - NEWS SENTRY


Saturday, 3 September 2016

Ranji trophy matches to be held at neutral venues from 6 October

All the matches in the upcoming Ranji Trophy cricket tournament will be played in neutral venues, according to the fixture of the Domestic tournaments announced by the BCCI on Saturday.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India(BCCI) on Saturday announced the fixtures for the Domestic tournaments for senior, junior and women to be played in 2016-17 season.

BCCI's technical committee, headed by Sourav Ganguly, had recommended to hold the matches of its Premier domestic championship at neutral venues in May this year to make it more competitive.

Neutral venues will take away any home advantage as it will deny the home teams an opportunity to make tailor-made pitches according to their strengths.

According to the fixture, the 83rd edition of the Ranji Trophy will get underway on 6 October with Chhattisgarh making their first-class debut against Tripura in Ranchi. They are the 10th team in Group C.

Group A and Group B will have nine teams each in the 28-team event. Three teams from each of Group A and B and two sides from Group C will reach the quarterfinals to be held from 17-21 December.

The semifinals will be held from 27-31 December and the final will be played between 7 and 11 January.

Ranji Trophy groups

Group A: Mumbai, Baroda, Punjab, Madhya Pradesh, Bengal, Gujarat,Tamil Nadu, Railways, Uttar Pradesh

Group B: Saurashtra, Odisha, Delhi, Maharashtra, Assam, Vidarbha, Karnataka, Rajasthan, Jharkhand.

Group C: Hyderabad, Haryana,Kerala, Himachal Pradesh, Tripura, Services, Goa, J&K, Andhra, Chhattisgarh

No comments:

Post a Comment